Highlights and images for 26 August 2016


On Friday, 26 August, the second session of the Preparatory Committee (PrepCom 2) on the elements of a draft text of an international legally binding instrument under the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) on the conservation and sustainable use of marine biodiversity of areas beyond national jurisdiction (BBNJ) was opened by Chair Eden Charles (Trinidad and Tobago) and Stephen Mathias, Assistant Secretary-General, Office of Legal Affairs. Plenary convened in the morning to consider organisational matters. An informal working group on marine genetic resources met for the rest of the day to consider: definitions, principles and approaches, access and benefit-sharing.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report in English and French from the 2nd Session of the Preparatory Committee Established by the UN General Assembly Resolution 69/292 “Development of an International Legally Binding Instrument under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea on the Conservation and Sustainable Use of Marine Biological Diversity of Areas Beyond National Jurisdiction.”
Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

From L-R:  Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UN Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea (UNDOALOS); Chair Eden Charles, Trinidad and Tobago; and Alice Hicuburundi, UN Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea (UNDOALOS)

Anca Leroy, EU

Xinmin Ma, China

Rishy Bukoree, Mauritius

Thembile Joyini, South Africa

Rena Lee, Singapore

Stephen Mathias, Assistant Secretary-General, Office of Legal Affairs

Evan Bloom, US

Rolando Castro, Costa Rica

Zentaro Naganuma, Japan

Juliette Babb-Riley, Barbados

Catherine Boucher, Canada

John Adank, New Zealand

Zentaro Naganuma, Japan, and Matthías Pálsson, Iceland

Geoff Burton, UN University (UNU), with Barbara Ruis, UNEP

Ismail Raushan, Maldives

Prim Masrinuan, Thailand for the Group of 77 and China

Hiroko Muraki Gottlieb, IUCN

Michael Bliss, Australia

Momtaz Djamchid, Iran

Matthías Pálsson, Iceland

Kjell Kristian Egge, Norway

Tek Prasad Dhungana, Nepal

Mehdi Remaoun, Algeria

Khurshed Alam, Bangladesh

Martin Zvachula, Federated States of Micronesia, with, John Brincat, EU

Duncan Currie, Greenpeace International, and Thembile Joyini, South Africa

Participants networking