Highlights and images for 9 September 2017



On Saturday morning, 10 September, the IPCC Plenary convened to discuss the report of the Ad Hoc Task Group on Financial Stability of the IPCC (ATG-Finance), and the pros and cons of various funding options. In the afternoon and evening, Working Groups (WGs) II and III continued their work on the chapter outlines.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage and will a summary and analysis report from IPCC-46, which is available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Plenary Session

View of the dais during the plenary session

Thelma Krug, IPCC Vice-Chair

Eric Seyama, Swaziland

Abdullah Tawlah, Saudi Arabia

Youba Sokona, IPCC Vice-Chair

Birama Diarra, Mali

María Amparo Martínez Arroyo, Mexico, with Working Group II Vice-Chair Roberto Sánchez-Rodríguez, Mexico

Serhat Sensoy and Eray Özdemir, Turkey

Javier Gutiérrez, Nicaragua

Martine Vanderstraeten, Belgium

Markku Rummukainen, Sweden

Farhan Akhtar, US

Jakub Gibek, Poland

Kokou Sabi, Togo

Abdallah Nassif, Morocco

Renata Negrelly Nogueira, Brazil

Christian Müller, Germany

Maesela Kekana, South Africa

Elisha Moyo, Zimbabwe

Helen Plume, New Zealand

Elhousseine Gouaini, Chief Conference Officer, World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

Working Group II

From L-R: Melinda Tignor, Head of WGII TSU; Katja Mintenbeck, WGII TSU Science Officer; Co-Chair Hans-Otto Pörtner, Germany; Co-Chair Debra Roberts, South Africa; and Elvira Poloczanska, WGII TSU Director of Science 

Co-Chair Hans-Otto Pörtner, Germany

Susanna De Beauville-Scott, Saint Lucia

Ali Shareef, Maldives

Ramanlal Bhatt Jaivardhan, India

Nicolás Zambrano, Ecuador

José Romero, Switzerland

Isabel Di Carlo Quero, Venezuela

From L-R: Roberto Sánchez-Rodríguez, Mexico; Carlos Mendez, Venezuela; Joy Jacqueline Pereira, Malaysia; Sergey Semenov, Russian Federation; and Andreas Fischlin, Switzerland

Working Group III

View of the dais during the Thirteenth Session of Working Group III

Working Group III Co-Chair Jim Skea, UK

Working Group III Vice-Chair Ramón Pichs-Madruga, Cuba

Fei Teng, China

Marcel Berk, Netherlands

Øyvind Christophersen, Norway

Manfred Treber, Germanwatch

Working Group III Vice-Chair Andy Reisinger, New Zealand

Side Event: Session on Engaging in the CitiesIPCC Conference & Knowledge Generation on Cities and Climate Change

This side event on engaging in the CitiesIPCC Conference & Knowledge Generation on Cities and Climate Change, which will convene 5-7 March 2018 in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, aimed to inform IPCC-46 participants about the objectives of and ways to contribute to the conference, and how the conference will support the IPCC’s work. The conference will aim to build knowledge in preparation for the IPCC’s special report on cities, which will be included in the IPCC’s seventh assessment cycle.

From L-R: Ben Henderson, Edmonton City Councillor; WGII Co-Chair Debra Roberts, South Africa; Seth Schultz, C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group; WGIII Vice-Chair Diana Ürge-Vorsat, Hungary; and Anne-Hélène Prieur-Richard, Future Earth

Seth Schultz, C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group

Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair

Working Group III Vice-Chair Diana Ürge-Vorsat, Hungary

Working Group II Co-Chair Debra Roberts, South Africa

Ben Henderson, Edmonton City Councillor

Around the Venue

Farhan Akhtar, US, and Jolene Cook, UK

Doreen Stabinsky, College of the Atlantic, with Maesela Kekana, South Africa

Abdalah Mokssit, IPCC Secretary, with IPCC Vice-Chair Ko Barrett, US

Olivier Fontan, France, with Pirkko Heikinheimo, Finland