Highlights and images for 1 December 2017



On the final day of the third meeting of the Open-Ended Committee of Permanent Representatives (OECPR-3), delegates continued negotiations in the five contact groups throughout the day, adding extended sessions into the night. During the evening closing plenary, delegates welcomed the successful conclusion of discussions on the draft ministerial outcome document and agreed to forward the document to UNEA-3 for consideration. Delegates also adopted eight of the 13 draft decisions and resolutions by acclamation and earmarked the remaining five resolutions for informal consultations over the weekend.

OECPR Chair John Moreti drew the meeting to a close at 10:52 pm.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from OECPR-3 and UNEA-3. The summary and analysis is now available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzarakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Plenary Session

From L-R: Ibrahim Thiaw, Deputy Executive Director, UN Environment Programme (UNEP); Erik Solheim, Executive Director, UNEP; UNEA President Edgar Gutiérrez-Espeleta, Minister of Environment and Energy, Costa Rica; OECPR Chair John Moreti, Botswana; and Jorge Laguna-Celis, Secretary, Secretariat of Governing Bodies, UNEP

Erik Solheim, Executive Director, UNEP

UNEA President Edgar Gutiérrez-Espeleta, Minister of Environment and Energy, Costa Rica

OECPR Chair John Moreti, Botswana

Abdelmoneim Mabrouk, Sudan, speaking on behalf of the Arab League

Jorge Laguna-Celis, Secretary, Secretariat of Governing Bodies, UNEP; OECPR Chair John Moreti, Botswana

Rose Makena Muchiri, Kenya

Marta Juarez Ruiz, Costa Rica

Yingxian Xia, China

Hussein Roshdy, Egypt

Ado Lõhmus, EU

Helda Khasmy, Women Major Group, Indonesia

Webster Chiyangwa, Zimbabwe

Andrea Jones Bennett, Jamaica

Annemari Vene, Estonia, with Kelly Hertenweg, Belgium

Delegates between sessions

Contact Group 1

Eduardo Alcibíades Sánchez Kiesslich, Mexico

Simla Yasemin Özkaya, Turkey

Miak Aw Hui Min, Singapore

Eiji Tanaka, Japan

Kätlin Mandel, EU

Sebastian König, Switzerland

Suseno Sukoyono, Indonesia

Charles Mojalemotho, Botswana

Jorge Ernesto Quezada Diaz, El Salvador

Jamil Ahmad, UNEP, with Vladimir Lenev, Russian Federation

Participants conferring

Nathan Glassey, New Zealand, with Maria Lemos, Colombia

Contact Group 2

Committee of Permanent Representatives (CPR) Vice-Chair Elizabeth Taylor, Colombia

Karina Cham, Brazil

Narges Saffar, Iran

Pedro Tiê Candido Souza, Brazil

Contact Group 3

Contact Group 3 Chair Tarja Fernández, Finland

Yu Hai, China

Yevhenii Tsymbaliuk, Ukraine

Simon Cardy, South Africa

Wilson Sumner, US

Zaid Noori, Iraq

Around the venue


Negotiating blocs
European Union