Highlights and images for 5 December 2017



The High-Level Segment of the third session of the United Nations Environmental Assembly (UNEA-3) opened today in Nairobi, Kenya. The opening plenary was officially opened by President Uhuru Kenyatta of Kenya, and follow up remarks were delivered by Presidents David Granger of Guyana and Anthony Thomas Aquinas Carmona of Trinidad and Tobago.

Delegates then convened in four consecutive thematic Leadership Dialogues, with plenary sessions to present national statements continuing in parallel. Committee of the Whole (COW) informal group consultations also continued throughout the day, adopting the remaining three decisions and resolutions in the closing plenary in the evening.

In the evening, the “Multi-Stakeholder Dialogue on People and Pollution” took place.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from OECPR-3 and UNEA-3. The summary and analysis is now available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzarakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

High-Level Segment

View of the dais during the High-Level Segment

Uhuru Kenyatta, President of Kenya

Erik Solheim, Executive Director, UNEP

David Granger, President of Guyana

UNEA-3 President Edgar Gutiérrez-Espeleta, Minister of Environment and Energy, Costa Rica

Anthony Thomas Aquinas Carmona, President of Trinidad and Tobago

Jorge Laguna-Celis, Secretary, Secretariat of Governing Bodies, UNEP, and David Granger, President of Guyana

National Statements

Hassan Abdel-Gadir Hilal, Minister of Environment, Forests and Physical Development, Sudan

Masagos Zulkifli, Minister for the Environment and Water Resources, Singapore

Mary Goretti Kitutu Kimono, Minister of State for Environment, Uganda

Joke Schauvliege, Flemish Region Minister of Environment, Nature and Agriculture, Belgium

Marcelo Mena Carrasco, Minister for Environment, Chile

Leadership Dialogues

Dominic Kailashnath Waughray, World Economic Forum

Beatrice Marshall, Anchor, China Global Television Network Africa

Laurent Fabius, France

Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat

Zain Verjee, former Anchor, CNN

Maarten Kappelle, UNEP

Martha Rojas-Urrego, Secretary General, Ramsar Convention

Tony Simons, Director General, World Agroforestry Centre

Hu Weiwei, CEO, MoBike

Carole Dieschbourg, Minister for the Environment, Luxembourg

Axel Threlfall, Editor-at-Large, Reuters

Committee of the Whole

Fernando Coimbra, Brazil

Chair of the COW, John Matuszak, US

Elizabeth Taylor, Colombia

Ibrahim Thiaw, Deputy Executive Director, UNEP

Multi-Stakeholder Dialogue

Marie Chatardová, President of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

Eritai Kateibwi, Young Champion of the Earth for Asia Pacific

Halima Hussein, Natural Justice

Felix Dodds, International Ambassador for the City of Bonn

Olga Speranskaya, Co-chair of the International Persistent Organic Pollutants Elimination Network

Sascha Gabizon, Co-Facilitator, Women Major Group

Kaya Dorey, Novel Supply Co.

Side Event: The role of Circular Economy in the transition "Towards a Pollution-Free Planet"

Karmenu Vella, Commissioner, Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission

Li Ganjie, Minister of Environmental Protection, China

Erik Solheim, Executive Director, UNEP

Edna Molewa, Minister of Environmental Affairs, South Africa

Side Event: Together against Marine litter and microplastics

Karen Raubenheimer, University of Wollongong, Australia

Vidar Helgesen, Minister of Climate and the Environment, Norway

Delphine Lévi Alvarès, Break Free from Plastic

Christophe de Boissoudy, Novamont France

Ola Göransson, UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs

Between Sessions

Jamil Ahmad, UNEP

Marie-France Houle, Global Affairs Canada, introducing Canada's new Feminist International Assistance Policy at a side event on Strengthening Gender Policies for a Toxic Free Planet / Photo courtesy Cliff GAI, Women Environmental Programme

Participants conferring between sessions

Ibrahim Thiaw, Deputy Executive Director, UNEP, with Stephan Contius, Germany

Women Major Group: Tribute to Environmental Women Human Rights Defenders