csd banner
  Fifteenth Session of the Commission on Sustainable Development (CSD-15)

30 April - 11 May 2007 | United Nations Headquarters, New York, United States of America

Daily Web Coverage
Curtain Raiser


Highlights for Monday, 30 April 2007
On Monday morning, CSD-15 began its consideration of the thematic cluster for the 2006/07 implementation cycle – energy for sustainable development, industrial development, air pollution and atmosphere, and climate change. After completing the election of officers and adopting the agenda and organization of work, delegates heard reports on intersessional activities and made general statements.

Chair Abdullah Bin Hamad Al-Attiyah opened the plenary with a brief overview of the outcome of CSD-14 and of the CSD-15 intergovernmental preparatory meeting, and suggested that the CSD-15 focus on areas where it could add value.

Opening Plenary

Stephan Contius, Germany, for the EU, highlighted the impact of climate change on security.
Farrukh Amil, Pakistan, for the G-77/China, called for the full implementation of commitments made at recent summits.
CSD Vice-Chair Alain Edouard Traore (Burkina Faso).
Daniel A. Reifsnyder, United States.
Akec Khoc, Sudan.
Janil Greenaway, Antigua and Barbuda.
Franz Perrez, Switzerland.
Elfriede Anna More, Austria.
Jiro Kodera, Japan.
Anne Kari Hansen Ovind, Norway.
Katrine Norlyng, Denmark.
Anna Golubovska-Onisimova, Women.
Bola Sangosanya, Children and Youth.
Estebancio Castro, Indigenous People.
Luiz Alberto Figueiredo Machado, Brazil.
Jurgen Maier, NGO's.
Christian Brodhag, France.
Gerd Johnsson-Latham, Sweden.
Paolo Soprano, Italy.
Nadine Gouzée, Belgium.
Ana Bianchi, Argentina.
Rachel McCormick, Canada.

Regional Perspectives
In the afternoon delegates considered perspectives from representatives of UN regional commissions and regional organizations
on the thematic cluster.

Emmanuel Nzabanita, African Development Bank, called for improved institutional and policy frameworks.
Josué Dioné, Economic Commission for Africa, provided details of Africa’s policy priorities.
  CSD Vice-Chair Frances Lisson (Australia).
Margaret Sangarwe, Zimbabwe.
Andrey Ozhardvskiy, NGO's.
Kaj Barlund, Economic Commission for Europe.
Brent Dark, Asian Development Bank.
Rae Kwon Chung, Economic and Social Commission for Asia.
Jean Christophe Fueg, Economic Commission for Europe.
Javad Amin-Mansour, Iran.
Yong-Hyuk Choi, Workers and Trade Unions.
John M. Matuszak, United States.
Raquel Herrera, UNDP.
Alfredo A. Labbe, Chile.
Franklin Rangel, Venezuela.
Joseluis Samaniego, CEPAL.
Fouad Shaker, Union of Arab Banks.
Anhar Hegazi, Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia.
Carlos Simancas, Farmers.
Antonio Perez Rodriguez, Mexico.

Web Coverage

Related Links

Digimarc and the Digimarc logo are registered trademarks of Digimarc Corporation.  The "Digimarc Digital Watermarking" Web Button
is a trademark of Digimarc Corporation, used with permission.

! Any irregularities on this page? Please e-mail the Digital Editor.

| Back to IISD RS "Linkages" home | Visit IISDnet | Send e-mail to ENB |
© 2007, IISD. All rights reserved.