Highlights and images for 6 July 2018



The 22nd meeting of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice (SBSTTA 22) of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) continued Friday with the consideration of conference room papers (CRPs) based on the discussions held earlier in the week. CRPs were discussed in plenary during morning, afternoon, and evening sessions on the following agenda items:

  • Protected areas and other effective area-based conservation measures;
  • Invasive alien species;
  • Conservation and sustainable use of pollinators;
  • The second work programme of the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES); and
  • Biodiversity and climate change.

The contact group on digital sequence information met at lunchtime. A Friends of the Chair meeting to resolve three outstanding paragraphs in the CRP on synthetic biology also met and reported back to plenary on Friday night.

For extensive details on the day’s negotiations and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis from SBSTTA 22 and SBI 2.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Franz Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

L-R: CBD Deputy Executive Secretary David Cooper; Alexander Shestakov, CBD Secretariat; SBSTTA 22 Chair Theresa Mundita Lim; and Junko Shimura, CBD Secretariat

CBD Deputy Executive Secretary David Cooper

Sarat Babu Gidda, CBD Secretariat

L-R: Gillian Guthrie, Jamaica, and Lorenzo Ciccarese, Italy

Kim Downes Agard, Barbados

Moustafa Fouda, Egypt

Frank Barsch, Germany

Malta Qwathekana, South Africa

Hirohide Matsushima, Japan

Lucy Mulenkei, Indigenous Women's Organization

Stig Johansson, Finland

Andri Wahyono, Indonesia

Kalina Stoyanova, Bulgaria

Alejandro Masís, Costa Rica

Gilles Seutin, Canada

Matilde da Conceiçao Gomes Lopes, Guinea Bissau

Karma Nyedrup, Bhutan

Boukar Attari, Niger

Roxana Solis, Peru

Gillian Guthrie, Jamaica

Olle Hojer, Sweden

Nela Miauta, Romania

Fionna Cumming, New Zealand

Hachime Abdérémane, Comoros

Asdaporn Krairapanond, Thailand

Sergiy Gubar, Ukraine

Vin Fleming, UK

Larbi Sbaï, Morocco

L-R: Sonia Peña Moreno and Dao Nguyen, IUCN

L-R: Asako Kobayashi, Nobuyuki Fujita and Rie Funabiki, Japan

L-R: Pam Chasek, IISD Reporting Services; and Harry Jonas, Natural Justice

L-R: Silvia Ribeiro and Jim (the Pirate) Thomas, ETC Group

L-R: Tim Packeiser, WWF, in conversation with Daniela Diz, Strathclyde Centre for Environmental Law and Governance

Delegates from China

SBSTTA 22 exhibition booths